IAMfourzerotwo

GAMER. GEEK. BLOGGER.

Beware of fake “COD5″ Beta Invites

This is a bit more widespread than I originally thought when I sent out the warning on twitter (@fourzerotwo and @Infinity_Ward) earlier today, but there is a FAKE email going out to people which appears to come from COD5BETA@infinityward.com (see above).

If you receive one, just delete it. Don’t open it, reply, or click any links - it’s fake and could contain a virus or be an attempt to phish personal information. The body of the email is an exact replica of the one I sent out during the COD4 Beta, except they’ve replaced all references of Call of Duty 4.

For the record, there is no beta. Believe me, if we were having a beta, I’d be screaming it from every internet rooftop from Twitter to Forums. We have yet to even officially announce our next project, let alone a beta for it. Although, it is kind of flattering to think Spammers think a beta for our next game is luring enough to get people to open. WATCH OUT Penis Enlargement spam mail, there’s a new kid on the block!

Share and Enjoy:
  • TwitThis
  • Digg
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • N4G
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Tumblr
  • Google
  • MySpace
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Slashdot
  • Live
  • Pownce
  • SphereIt
  • Print this article!
  • Blogosphere News
  • Fark
  • Furl
  • Ping.fm

Tags: , ,